Toll rates

The toll rates are set down in the German Federal Trunk Road Toll Act (BFStrMG). The total amount is based on the distance that a vehicle or a vehicle combination travels on a road subject to toll and a toll rate per kilometre that includes the infrastructure costs and costs due to the air pollution caused by the vehicle.

  • The partial toll rate for infrastructure costs is different for trucks with two axles, three axles, four axles and five or more axles.

  • The partial toll rate for air pollution costs is determined according to the emission class, which is used as the basis for assigning each vehicle to one of the six categories: A, B, C, D, E or F.

No costs for modern trucks of emission class Euro 6 (category A) will be charged for causing air pollution. Only the infrastructure costs are calculated for the partial toll rate for this type of truck.

The indication of the emission classes is the responsibility of the toll customers; the customers are obliged to declare themselves correctly (principle of self-declaration).

Further information

Guide for determining emission classes

Explanation of the axle classes

Emission classes according to the German Federal Trunk Road Toll Act (BFStrMG)

  Category A Category B Category
C
Category
D
Category E Category F
Emission classS6EEV class 1,
S5
S4,
S3 with particulate reduction class 2*
S3,
S2 with particulate reduction class 1*
S2S1,
no emission class
Euro emission
class
Euro 6EEV 1,
Euro 5
Euro 4,
Euro 3 + with particulate reduction class 2*
Euro 3,
Euro 2 + with particulate reduction class 1*
Euro 2Euro 1,
Euro 0

* Particulate reduction classes are retrofitting standards to lower particulate emissions. Particulate reduction class 1 or higher is required for category; for category C, particulate reduction class 2 or higher is required.

Toll rates per kilometre from 1 October 2015

Category Proportion of toll rate
(in cents)
Costs for air pollution
Number of
axles**
Proportion of toll rate
(in cents)
Costs for infrastructure
Toll rate
(in cents)
A028.18.1
311.311.3
411.711.7
5 or higher13.513.5
B2.128.110.2
311.313.4
411.713.8
5 or higher13.515.6
C3.228.111.3
311.314.5
411.714.9
5 or higher13.516.7
D6.328.114.4
311.317.6
411.718.0
5 or higher13.519.8
E7.328.115.4
311.318.6
411.719.0
5 or higher13.520.8
F8.328.116.4
311.319.6
411.720.0
5 or higher13.521.8

**The tandem axle counts as two axles, the tridem axle counts as three axles. Lift and retractable axles are always taken into account, regardless of whether a vehicle axle is being used or is lifted during transportation, in other words has no road contact.

The road user subject to toll must prove the accuracy of all relevant data for toll collection when requested by the Federal Office for Goods Transport (BAG) by showing appropriate documents (Section 5 of the German Federal Trunk Road Toll Act (BFStrMG) in conjunction with Section 7 of the German Truck Toll Regulations).

For all trucks registered in Germany, the emission class can be proven by the vehicle licence, part I of the vehicle registration certificate or the vehicle tax document (§ 8 of the German Truck Toll Regulations).

For vehicles registered outside of Germany, time-based presumptions apply if the emission class cannot be proven in another way, in particular with documents attesting the fulfilment of certain environmental requirements in ECMT transport (European Conference of Ministers of Transport), (Section 9 of the German Truck Toll Regulations).

The road user subject to toll is responsible for demonstrating and proving all data relevant for toll collection. Failure to provide proof will be penalised with a fine.

Service Hotline

  • Calls from within Germany:
  • 0800 222 2628*
  • Calls from outside Germany:
  • 008000 222 2628*
Node: tpm2r603

Mauttarife

Die Mauttarife sind im Bundesfernstraßenmautgesetz festgeschrieben. Der Gesamtbetrag ergibt sich aus der Strecke, die ein Fahrzeug oder eine Fahrzeugkombination auf mautpflichtigen Straßen zurücklegt und einem Mautsatz je Kilometer, der die Infrastrukturkosten und die Kosten für die verursachte Luftverschmutzung enthält.

  • Der Maut-Teilsatz für die Infrastrukturkosten unterscheidet zwischen Lkw mit zwei Achsen, drei Achsen, vier Achsen und fünf oder mehr Achsen.

  • Der Maut-Teilsatz für die Kosten der verursachten Luftverschmutzung richtet sich nach der Schadstoffklasse. Dabei wird jedes Fahrzeug aufgrund seiner Schadstoffklasse einer der sechs Kategorien A, B, C, D, E und F zugeordnet.

Für moderne Lkw der Schadstoffklasse Euro 6 (Kategorie A) werden keine Kosten für die Verursachung von Luftverschmutzung berechnet. Hier fällt nur der Maut-Teilsatz zur Finanzierung der Infrastruktur an.

Die Angabe der Schadstoffklassen liegt in der Verantwortung der Mautkunden; die Kunden sind verpflichtet, sich selbst korrekt zu deklarieren (Prinzip der Selbstdeklaration).

Weitere Informationen:

Leitfaden zur Ermittlung der Schadstoffklassen

Aufschlüsselung der Achsklassen

Schadstoffklassen gemäß Bundesfernstraßenmautgesetz

  Kategorie A Kategorie B Kategorie C Kategorie D Kategorie E Kategorie F
SchadstoffklasseS6EEV Klasse 1,
S5
S4,
S3 mit PMK 2*
S3,
S2 mit PMK 1*
S2S1,
keine SSK
Euro-
Schadstoffklasse
Euro 6EEV 1,
Euro 5
Euro 4,
Euro 3 + PMK 2*
Euro 3,
Euro 2 + PMK 1*
Euro 2Euro 1,
Euro 0

* PMK – Partikelminderungsklassen sind Nachrüstungsstandards zur Senkung des Partikelausstoßes. Für Kategorie D wird die PMK 1 oder höher, für Kategorie C die PMK 2 oder höher benötigt.

Mautsätze pro Kilometer ab 1. Oktober 2015

Kategorie Mautsatz-Anteil (in Cent)
Kosten für Luftverschmutzung
Achszahl** Mautsatz-Anteil (in Cent)
Kosten für Infrastruktur
Mautsatz
(in Cent)
A028,18,1
311,311,3
411,711,7
ab 513,513,5
B2,128,110,2
311,313,4
411,713,8
ab 513,515,6
C3,228,111,3
311,314,5
411,714,9
ab 513,516,7
D6,328,114,4
311,317,6
411,718,0
ab 513,519,8
E7,328,115,4
311,318,6
411,719,0
ab 513,520,8
F8,328,116,4
311,319,6
411,720,0
ab 513,521,8

**Die Tandemachse zählt als zwei Achsen, die Tridemachse zählt als drei Achsen. Lift- und Hubachsen werden stets berücksichtigt, unabhängig davon, ob eine Fahrzeugachse während der Beförderung beansprucht oder hochgefahren ist, also keinen Fahrbahnkontakt hat.

Der Mautpflichtige ist verpflichtet, auf Verlangen des Bundesamtes für Güterverkehr die Richtigkeit aller für die Mauterhebung maßgeblichen Tatsachen durch Vorlage geeigneter Unterlagen nachzuweisen (§ 5 BFStrMG i. V. m. § 7 LKW-MautV).

Bei allen in Deutschland zugelassenen Lkw kann die Schadstoffklasse insbesondere durch den Fahrzeugschein, die Zulassungsbescheinigung Teil I oder den Kraftfahrzeugsteuerbescheid nachgewiesen werden (§ 8 LKW-MautV).

Bei nicht in Deutschland zugelassenen Fahrzeugen gelten zeitlich abgestufte Vermutungsregeln, wenn die Schadstoffklasse nicht auf andere Weise, insbesondere durch Unterlagen über die Erfüllung bestimmter Umweltanforderungen im CEMT-Verkehr (Conférence Européenne des Ministres des Transports – Konferenz der Europäischen Verkehrsminister), nachgewiesen werden kann (§ 9 LKW-MautV).

Der Mautpflichtige trägt die Darlegungs- und Beweislast für alle mauterheblichen Tatsachen. Ein Verstoß gegen die Nachweispflicht ist bußgeldbewehrt.

Service Hotline

  • Anrufe aus Deutschland:
  • 0800 222 26 28*
  • Anrufe aus dem Ausland:
  • 008000 222 26 28*
Knoten: tpm2r603