Facts and figures


Toll Collect building at Potsdamer Platz, Linkstraße 4, Berlin

Our service

Toll Collect is an efficient technology service provider for toll collection and enforcement. Since 1 January 2005, it has been operating one of the largest toll systems in the world. Our main task is collecting the truck tolls in Germany according to the legal regulations and transferring them to the German Treasury, where they are earmarked for road infrastructure use. Since 2005, around 74 billion euros have been sent to the German Treasury.

Through reliably collecting tolls, we are making an important contribution to the maintenance and development of road infrastructure. Tolls are collected based on distance, emission class and weight class, which helps to ease the burden on the environment. In this way, truck tolls also make an important contribution to meeting climate objectives.

Toll Collect has been a federal enterprise since 2018, with the Federal Republic of Germany as its sole shareholder. As an enterprise belonging to the German government, the company purpose of Toll Collect was expanded. On the basis of our core service and central competence in toll collection, we are expanding our scope of tasks and becoming a service platform for the German government in Infrastructure and Digital Services. For example, we handle the development and operation of our subsidiary, the Federal Mobile Communications Infrastructure Company [Mobilfunkinfrastrukturgesellschaft], and support the Federal Office for Goods Transport (BAG) in the area of roadside enforcement service.

Toll Collect has set up the technical platform for a central toll collection service for Germany on behalf of the Federal Office for Goods Transport (BAG). With the introduction of the European Electronic Toll Services (EETS) in Germany, EETS providers can also process truck toll in Germany for their customers. The Federal Office for Goods Transport (BAG) provides the EETS providers with the central toll collection service to ensure uniform toll collection. The service completely handles the detection and tariffing of route sections subject to toll.

Federal Office for Goods Transport (BAG) information on EETS and on the toll collection service

Locations

Toll Collect GmbH has its headquarters in the centre of Berlin, right on Potsdamer Platz. Here, on Linkstraße, the management and all corporate divisions are located.

Other locations:
In Hanover-Langenhagen, Nuremberg, Pforzheim and Potsdam, further employees are employed in the areas of maintenance and management of the digital maps of the toll road network.

Employees

Toll Collect currently employs around 650 people.

Sustainability Report

By publishing its sustainability report, Toll Collect is documenting its commitment to responsible, sustainable conduct and business practices.

Sustainability Report 2020 (PDF, 3 MB)

More recommendations

Fakten und Zahlen


Toll Collect-Gebäude am Potsdamer Platz, Linkstraße 4, Berlin

Unser Service

Toll Collect ist ein leistungsstarker Technologie-Dienstleister für die Mauterhebung und -kontrolle und betreibt seit dem 1. Januar 2005 eines der größten Mautsysteme weltweit. Unsere Hauptaufgabe ist es, die Lkw-Maut in Deutschland nach den gesetzlichen Vorgaben einzunehmen und an den Bundeshaushalt zu transferieren, wo sie zweckgebunden für die Straßeninfrastruktur eingesetzt wird. Seit 2005 sind es rd. 74. Mrd. Euro, die an den Bundeshaushalt übergeben wurden.

Durch die verlässliche Einnahme der Maut leisten wir einen wichtigen Beitrag für den Erhalt und den Ausbau der Straßeninfrastruktur. Die streckenbezogene, nach Schadstoff- und Gewichtsklassen differenzierte Erhebung der Maut entlastet durch ihre Lenkungswirkung die Umwelt. Damit leistet die Lkw-Maut einen wichtigen Beitrag zur Erreichung der Klimaziele.

Seit 2018 ist Toll Collect ein Bundesunternehmen, alleinige Gesellschafterin ist die Bundesrepublik Deutschland. Als Unternehmen im Bundeseigentum wurde der Unternehmenszweck von Toll Collect erweitert. Auf der Basis unserer Kernleistung und zentralen Kompetenz „Mauterhebung“ weiten wir unser Aufgabenspektrum aus und entwickeln uns zu einer Service-Plattform des Bundes für Infrastruktur und digitale Dienstleistungen. Wir übernehmen zum Beispiel den Aufbau und Betrieb unseres Tochterunternehmens, der Mobilfunkinfrastrukturgesellschaft des Bundes, und unterstützen das Bundesamt für Güterverkehr (BAG) im Bereich des Straßenkontrolldienstes.

Im Auftrag des BAG hat Toll Collect die technische Plattform für einen zentralen Mauterhebungsdienst für Deutschland errichtet. Mit der Einführung des European Electronic Toll Services (EETS) in Deutschland können EETS-Anbieter ihren Kunden ebenfalls die Abwicklung der Lkw-Maut in Deutschland anbieten. Für eine einheitliche Mauterhebung stellt das BAG den EETS-Anbietern den zentralen Mauterhebungsdienst zur Verfügung. Der Dienst übernimmt die komplette Erkennung und Tarifierung der mautpflichtigen Streckenabschnitte.

BAG-Informationen zu EETS und zum Mauterhebungsdienst

Standorte

Die Toll Collect GmbH hat ihren Sitz im Zentrum Berlins, direkt am Potsdamer Platz. Hier, in der Linkstraße, sind die Geschäftsführung und alle Unternehmensbereiche angesiedelt.

Weitere Standorte:
In Hannover-Langenhagen, Nürnberg, Pforzheim und Potsdam sind weitere Mitarbeiter*innen in den Bereichen Instandhaltung und Pflege der digitalen Karten des mautpflichtigen Straßennetzes beschäftigt.

Mitarbeiter*innen

Insgesamt sind derzeit rund 650 Mitarbeiter*innen bei Toll Collect tätig.

Nachhaltigkeitsbericht

Mit dem Nachhaltigkeitsbericht dokumentiert Toll Collect das Engagement des Unternehmens für verantwortliches, nachhaltiges Handeln und Wirtschaften.

Nachhaltigkeitsbericht 2020 (PDF, 9 MB)

Weitere Empfehlungen