Legal basis

Legal basis for collecting the toll

The Toll Act and the Toll Regulation provide the legal framework for introducing the distance-based truck toll. The currently valid version of the German Federal Trunk Road Toll Act (BFStrMG), which took effect on 19 July 2011, provides the legal basis for collecting the new, distance-based toll. It determines, for example, which vehicles must pay toll on defined trunk roads, how the toll is collected, and how toll collection is enforced.

The German Federal Trunk Road Toll Act authorizes the German government to set the amount of the toll by regulation. Until a new German Heavy Goods Vehicle Toll Level Ordinance has been issued, the level of the toll is determined in accordance with the Annex to the German Federal Trunk Road Toll Act The German Toll Order regulates all details of truck-toll collection. The Toll Route Extension Regulations regulates toll collection on selected German trunk roads.

Vehicles required to pay the toll

All motor vehicles or vehicle combinations with a gross vehicle weight of 7,5 tonnes or more and designed or used exclusively for goods transport (§ 1 Section 1 BFStrMG) are required to pay the toll. All users of the German toll-road network are required to pay for the distance travelled on toll-routes – irrespective of their country of origin.

Toll road network

The requirement to pay toll applies to federal motorways, including fuel stations and rest stops, and around 2,000 kilometres of trunk roads. For detailed information and a breakdown of the toll road network, please click here.

Toll amount

The toll amount is based on the truck’s emission class and number of axles, as well as on the length of the toll route. Further information is available here.

Exemption from paying toll

Under § 1 Section 2 of the German Federal Trunk Road Toll Act, certain motor vehicles and vehicle combinations are exempted from paying the toll. Further information is available here.

Service Hotline

  • Calls from within Germany:
  • 0800 222 2628*
  • Calls from outside Germany:
  • 008000 222 2628*

Download Centre

Forms, brochures, instruction manuals and much more

To Download Centre

Questions?

Questions? Check our comprehensive list of questions and answers

To questions and answers

Node: tpm1r603

Rechtliche Grundlagen

Rechtliche Grundlagen der Mauterhebung

Das Mautgesetz und die Mautverordnungen bilden den rechtlichen Rahmen für die Einführung der streckenbezogenen Lkw-Maut. Das Bundesfernstraßenmautgesetz (BFStrMG), welches am 19. Juli 2011 in Kraft getreten ist, enthält in seiner jeweils aktuellen Fassung die Rechtsgrundlagen für die Erhebung der neuen entfernungsabhängigen Maut. Es legt zum Beispiel fest, für welche Fahrzeuge auf welchen Bundesfernstraßen Maut zu zahlen ist, wie die Maut erhoben und wie sie kontrolliert wird.

Die Bundesregierung wird durch das Bundesfernstraßenmautgesetz ermächtigt, die Höhe der Maut durch Rechtsverordnung festzusetzen. Bis zum Erlass einer neuen Mauthöheverordnung bestimmt sich die Höhe der Maut nach der Anlage zum Bundesfernstraßenmautgesetz. Durch die Mautverordnung werden alle Einzelheiten der Lkw-Mauterhebung geregelt. Die Mautstreckenausdehnungsverordnung regelt die Mauterhebung auf ausgewählten Bundesstraßen.

Mautpflichtige Fahrzeuge

Mautpflichtig sind alle Kraftfahrzeuge oder Fahrzeugkombinationen mit einem zulässigen Gesamtgewicht von mindestens 7,5 Tonnen, die ausschließlich für den Güterkraftverkehr bestimmt sind oder dafür eingesetzt werden (§ 1 Abs. 1 BFStrMG). Dabei müssen alle Benutzer des mautpflichtigen Streckennetzes für die zurückgelegte Strecke zahlen – unabhängig von ihrem Herkunftsland.

Mautpflichtige Straßen

Die Mautpflicht gilt auf den Bundesautobahnen einschließlich Tank- und Rastanlagen und auf rund 2000 Kilometer Bundesstraßen. Für detailliertere Informationen und eine Aufstellung des mautpflichtigen Straßennetzes klicken Sie bitte hier.

Mauthöhe

Die Höhe der Maut richtet sich nach der Schadstoffklasse, der Achszahl des Lkw und der Länge der mautpflichtigen Strecke. Weitere Informationen finden Sie hier.

Mautbefreiung

Nach § 1 Absatz 2 des Bundesfernstraßenmautgesetzes sind bestimmte Kraftfahrzeuge und Fahrzeugkombinationen von der Mautpflicht ausgenommen. Mehr Informationen dazu finden Sie hier.

Service Hotline

  • Anrufe aus Deutschland:
  • 0800 222 26 28*
  • Anrufe aus dem Ausland:
  • 008000 222 26 28*

Download-Center

Formulare, Broschüren, Gebrauchsanweisungen und vieles mehr

Zum Download-Center

Fragen?

Fragen? Schauen Sie doch einfach mal in unsere umfangreiche Sammlung an Fragen & Antworten

Zu Fragen & Antworten

Knoten: tpm1r603