General information

  • The federal government has strict requirements with regard to the toll system in Germany.

    The toll system must:

    • Be able to detect a defined toll road network (around 13,000 kilometres of motorways and 38,000 kilometres of federal trunk roads), and only calculate the toll for these roads. It must be possible to extend this road network at any time;
    • Take the CO2-emission class, Euro emission class, axle class and weight class of the truck into consideration when calculating the fee;
    • Provide a technological framework that will allow the introduction of additional fee classes, such as time and location of journey;
    • Be a "free-flow" system that calculates the toll without stoppages or traffic jams;
    • Be a dual system that offers both automatic and manual log-on procedures, thus ensuring that all truck drivers can use the toll road network without discrimination;

    The toll system should also provide the technological capability to support other European systems.

    With its automatic log-on option, which is based on innovative Global Positioning System (GPS) and mobile radio technologies, and its manual system based on the app and online access, the Toll Collect system fulfils all of these requirements.

  • The toll system calculates and collects the fees based on the distance travelled - in contrast to how vignettes work. The system also guarantees that the flow of traffic is not impeded during toll collection. Unlike most conventional systems, Toll Collect does not require vehicles to reduce their speed, stop or stay within prescribed lanes.

    As a dual system, the toll system also provides two ways to log on: automatic log-on via the On-Board Unit and manual log-on via the app or online.

    The automatic log-on system is based on an innovative combination of mobile radio technology (GSM) and a GPS satellite positioning system (Global Positioning System). The core element of the automatic log-on is an On-Board Unit (OBU), which determines the position of the truck and the distance it has travelled using satellite signals and other positioning sensors. The OBU sends this journey data and vehicle-specific characteristics to the computing centre, with a time delay and under encryption. As a result, the journey data is not allocated to the toll route network until it arrives at the Toll Collect computing centre. Once this is done, the toll for the roads subject to toll is calculated in the computing centre based on the vehicle-specific characteristics.

    Alternatively, Toll Collect also offers a manual log-on option, which can be used via the app or the Internet. This works in a similar way to buying a train ticket. The driver enters all the relevant vehicle data, and sets the start date, start point and destination of the journey. Based on the data entered by the driver, the route calculation takes into consideration vehicle-specific traffic restrictions, such as closures and weight restrictions.

  • The easiest way for you to use the toll system is to log on automatically using an On-Board Unit (OBU) in your truck. To do this, you will need to register your company and vehicles in the Toll Collect customer portal. You will receive a confirmation of registration for each truck. Once all the vehicle data has been entered correctly, you can arrange an appointment to get an on-board unit fitted with a service partner authorised by Toll Collect.

    More information on logging on via OBU

    The alternative to the automatic system is the manual log-on. This is mainly provided for truck drivers and transport companies who do not drive through Germany very often. You can log on your planned route using the Toll Collect app or online. You don't have to register to be able to log on manually.

    More information:

  • The quickest and easiest way for users to register is online, using the customer portal. The registration process takes only a few minutes to complete. You will be given immediate access to all of the functions in the customer portal, such as the list of journeys still to be invoiced.

  • The Toll Collect system is designed to provide the technical framework to support other toll systems. Toll Collect already collaborates with the Austrian toll operator ASFINAG. Register for the TOLL2GO service. Then you will only need one On-Board-Unit for toll payment in Germany and Austria – the Toll Collect On-Board Unit.

    TOLL2GO
  • If your tractor unit has a Technically Permissible Maximum Laden Mass (TPMLM) of at least 7.5 t, it is subject to toll. Under 7.5 t it is toll-free.

  • Vehicle combinations with a Technically Permissible Maximum Laden Mass (TPMLM) of 7.5 tonnes or more are only subject to toll if the motorised vehicle has a TPMLM of over 3.5 tonnes. The weight prompt on the OBU at the beginning of the journey must be set to the correct weight class (< 7.5 t, ≥ 7.5 – 11.99 t, ≥ 12 – 18 t or > 18 t) and confirmed by pressing OK. The technically permissible maximum laden mass is selected in increments of 1.5 tonnes. It is not possible to set a weight class that is lower than the Technically Permissible Maximum Laden Mass that is saved in the on-board unit. Once your journey has started, the OBU display will continuously show the selected weight class. The Technically Permissible Maximum Laden Mass is determined by adding together the Technically Permissible Maximum Laden Masses of the individual vehicles.

    If the vehicle is travelling without a trailer, the weight setting "< 7.5 t" should be selected before travel commences.

  • Vehicles with a particulate reduction class (PRC) will no longer be assigned to a better Euro emission class from 1 December 2023.

    Vehicles with emission class 'Euro 2 + PRC 1' will now fall within toll emission class 2, rather than toll emission class 3.

    For vehicles with emission class 'Euro 3 + PRC 2' the applicable category will be toll emission class 3, rather than toll emission class 4.

  • You will find the seven-digit customer number (formerly: user number), for example, on your toll statement in the top right-hand corner and on all our letters.

  • Our freephone number is available almost everywhere in the world. Only a few countries and providers do not support this service. In these cases, please dial: +49 30 25291303. Calls to this number are charged according to the conditions of your fixed-line or mobile phone provider.

  • The emission class of a truck registered in Germany or abroad can be determined and verified in various ways. Detailed information on this can be found in the 'Guide for determining the emission classes' from the Federal Logistics and Mobility Office. If you have any further questions about the information provided in the brochure, please contact the Federal Logistics and Mobility Office directly, tel. +49 (0) 221-5776-0.

    Guide for determining the emission classes (PDF, 95 KB)
  • Please let us know about any changes to your operating and vehicle data as soon as possible.

    You can change your payment method in the customer portal. If the legal form of your company has changed, please notify us in writing. You will find the necessary forms in the Download Centre.

    Download centre

    You can change your contact details in the customer portal, such as: address, telephone number, contact person and e-mail address. In addition, you can also deregister vehicles there and change the following vehicle data: licence plate number, emission class, number of axles, vehicle identification number, gross vehicle weight and country of registration.

    Customer portal
  • Following your successful "user registration", you will receive your master PIN.

    The master PIN is used to authenticate the registered customer. You will need it when phoning customer service and when changing your details.

More recommendations

Allgemeines

  • Die Anforderungen der Bundesregierung an das Mautsystem in Deutschland sind hoch:

    Das Mautsystem muss

    • ein festgelegtes, mautpflichtiges Straßennetz (rund 13.000 Kilometer Bundesautobahnen und 38.000 Kilometer Bundesstraßen) erkennen und nur dort die Maut berechnen. Dieses Straßennetz muss jederzeit erweiterbar sein;
    • bei der Berechnung der Gebühren die CO₂-Emisssionsklasse, die Schadstoffklasse wie auch die Achs- und Gewichtsklasse der Lkw berücksichtigen;
    • die technischen Voraussetzungen bieten, weitere Gebührenklassen, die zum Beispiel Zeitpunkt und Ort der Fahrt berücksichtigen, einzuführen;
    • ein „Freeflow-System“ sein, das die Maut ohne Stopp und Stau berechnet;
    • ein duales System sein, das mit einer automatischen und einer manuellen Einbuchungsvariante sicherstellt, dass alle Lkw-Fahrer*innen diskriminierungsfrei das mautpflichtige Straßennetz nutzen können;

    Zudem soll das Mautsystem die technischen Voraussetzungen aufweisen, um auch andere Systeme in Europa zu unterstützen.

    Mit einer automatischen Buchungsvariante auf der Basis der innovativen Technologien Global Positioning System (GPS) und Mobilfunk sowie einem manuellen System auf der Grundlage von App und Internet entspricht das Toll Collect-System allen diesen Anforderungen.

  • Das Mautsystem berechnet und erhebt die Gebühren - anders als bei der Verwendung von Vignetten - streckenabhängig. Das System gewährleistet zudem, dass der Verkehrsfluss während der Mauterhebung nicht behindert wird. Anders als herkömmliche Systeme erfordert Toll Collect weder Geschwindigkeitsbegrenzungen, noch ein Anhalten der Fahrzeuge oder eine Bindung an vorgeschriebene Fahrstreifen.

    Das Mautsystem bietet als duales System dabei grundsätzlich zwei Möglichkeiten zur Einbuchung: die automatische Einbuchung per Fahrzeuggerät und die manuelle Einbuchung per App oder im Internet.

    Das System der automatischen Einbuchung basiert auf einer innovativen Kombination der Mobilfunktechnologie (GSM) mit dem Satellitenortungssystem GPS (Global Positioning System). Kernstück der automatischen Einbuchung ist ein Fahrzeuggerät, die so genannte On-Board Unit (OBU), die mit Hilfe von Satellitensignalen die Position und zurückgelegte Strecke des Lkw bestimmt. Die OBU sendet diese Fahrdaten sowie fahrzeugspezifische Merkmale zeitversetzt und verschlüsselt an das Rechenzentrum. Erst im Toll Collect-Rechenzentrum findet die Zuordnung der Fahrdaten zum mautpflichtigen Streckennetz statt. Danach wird im Rechenzentrum die Maut für die mautpflichtigen Strecken auf Basis der fahrzeugspezifischen Merkmale berechnet.

    Alternativ dazu bietet Toll Collect die Möglichkeit zur manuellen Einbuchung per App oder im Internet. Das Verfahren ähnelt dem Kauf einer Fahrkarte. Der/die Fahrer*in gibt alle relevanten Fahrzeugdaten ein und legt den Starttermin sowie Start- und Zielort der Fahrt fest. Die Streckenberechnung erfolgt mit Hilfe der Angaben der Fahrer*innen unter Bericksichtigung von fahrzeugspezifischen Befahrbarkeitsrestriktionen wie z.B. Sperrungen oder Gewichtsbeschränkungen.

  • Der einfachste Weg zur Teilnahme am Mautsystem ist die automatische Einbuchung per Fahrzeuggerät im Lkw, der so genannten On-Board Unit (OBU). Registrieren Sie Ihr Unternehmen und Ihre Fahrzeuge dazu im Kunden-Portal von Toll Collect. Sie erhalten pro Lkw eine Registrierungsbestätigung. Wurden alle Fahrzeugdaten korrekt erfasst, können Sie mit einem von Toll Collect autorisierten Servicepartner einen Termin zum Einbau eines Fahrzeuggerätes vereinbaren.

    Weitere Informationen zur Einbuchung per OBU

    Die Alternative zum automatischen System ist die manuelle Einbuchung. Diese bietet sich vor allem für Lkw-Fahrer*innen und Transportunternehmen an, die nur selten in Deutschland unterwegs sind. Hierbei können Sie Ihre geplante Fahrtroute über die Toll Collect-App oder im Internet einbuchen. Für die Einbuchung ist keine vorherige Registrierung notwendig.

    Weitere Informationen:

  • Der schnellste und einfachste Weg ist die Online-Benutzerregistrierung im Kunden-Portal. Innerhalb weniger Minuten ist der Registrierungsvorgang abgeschlossen. Sie können sofort alle Funktionen im Kunden-Portal, wie z.B. die Auflistung nicht abgerechneter Fahrten, nutzen.

  • Das Toll Collect-System ist so ausgelegt, dass es die technischen Voraussetzungen bietet, um auch andere Mautsysteme zu unterstützen. Eine Zusammenarbeit findet mit dem österreichischen Mautbetreiber ASFINAG statt. Melden Sie sich für den TOLL2GO-Service an. Dann brauchen Sie für die Mautentrichtung in Deutschland und Österreich nur noch ein Fahrzeuggerät - die Toll Collect On-Board Unit.

    TOLL2GO
  • Hat Ihre Zugmaschine eine technisch zulässige Gesamtmasse (tzGm) von mindestens 7,5 t, dann ist sie mautpflichtig. Unter 7,5 t ist sie mautfrei.

  • Fahrzeugkombinationen mit einer technisch zulässigen Gesamtmasse (tzGm) von 7,5 Tonnen oder mehr sind mautpflichtig, wenn das Motorfahrzeug eine tzGm von mehr als 3,5 Tonnen hat. Dann muss bei der Gewichtsabfrage vor Fahrtbeginn die korrekte Gewichtsklasse ausgewählt (< 7,5 t, ≥ 7,5 – 11,99 t, ≥ 12 -18 t oder > 18 t) und mit OK bestätigt werden. Die technisch zulässige Gesamtmasse wird dabei in Auswahlschritten von 1,5 Tonnen eingestellt. Es kann keine Gewichtsklasse eingestellt werden, die kleiner ist, als die auf dem Fahrzeuggerät gespeicherte technisch zulässige Gesamtmasse. Nach Fahrtbeginn zeigt das Display der OBU dauerhaft die gewählte Gewichtsklasse an. Für die Ermittlung der technisch zulässigen Gesamtmasse werden die technisch zulässigen Gesamtmassen der Einzelfahrzeuge addiert.

    Ist das Fahrzeug ohne Anhänger unterwegs, ist vor Fahrtantritt bei der Gewichtsangabe „< 7,5 t“ zu wählen.

  • Fahrzeuge mit Partikelminderungsklasse (PMK) werden seit dem 1. Dezember 2023 nicht mehr in eine bessere Euro-Schadstoffklasse eingestuft.

    Fahrzeuge mit der Schadstoffklasse ‚Euro 2 + PMK 1‘ fallen jetzt in die Maut-Schadstoffklasse 2, nicht mehr in die Maut-Schadstoffklasse 3.

    Für Fahrzeuge mit der früheren Schadstoffklasse ‚Euro 3 + PMK 2‘ gilt die Maut-Schadstoffklasse 3, nicht mehr die Maut-Schadstoffklasse 4.

  • Die siebenstellige Kundennummer (früher: Benutzernummer) finden Sie zum Beispiel auf Ihrer Mautaufstellung in der rechten oberen Ecke und auf allen unseren Schreiben.

  • Unsere kostenfreie Rufnummer ist weltweit fast überall erreichbar. Nur wenige Länder und Provider unterstützen diesen Service nicht. In diesen Fällen wählen Sie bitte: +49 30 25291303. Für den Anruf entstehen Kosten, die sich aus den Konditionen Ihres Festnetz- oder Mobilfunk-Anbieters ergeben.

  • Die Schadstoffklasse eines in Deutschland oder im Ausland zugelassenen Lkw kann auf verschiedenen Wegen ermittelt und nachgewiesen werden. Detaillierte Informationen dazu enthält der Leitfaden zur Ermittlung der Schadstoffklassen des Bundesamts für Logistik und Mobilität. Sollten Sie zu den in der Broschüre gemachten Angaben weitere Fragen haben, wenden Sie sich bitte direkt an das Bundesamt für Logistik und Mobilität, Tel. +49 (0) 221-5776-0.

    Leitfaden zur Ermittlung der Schadstoffklassen (PDF, 91 KB)
  • Bitte teilen Sie uns Veränderungen Ihrer Betriebs- und Fahrzeugdaten frühzeitig mit.

    Ihre Zahlungsweise können Sie im Kunden-Portal ändern. Die Änderung der Rechtsform Ihres Unternehmens teilen Sie uns bitte schriftlich mit. Die erforderlichen Formulare finden Sie im Download-Center.

    Download-Center

    Ihre Kontaktdaten, wie zum Beispiel: Adresse, Telefonnummer, Ansprechpartner und E-Mail-Adresse, können Sie im Kunden-Portal ändern. Darüber hinaus können Sie dort auch Fahrzeuge abmelden und folgende Fahrzeugdaten ändern: Kfz-Kennzeichen, Schadstoffklasse, Achszahl, Fahrzeugidentifikationsnummer, Gesamtgewicht und Zulassungsland.

    Kunden-Portal
  • Nach der erfolgreichen „Benutzerregistrierung“ erhalten Sie Ihre Master-PIN.

    Die Master-PIN dient zur Authentifizierung des registrierten Kunden. Sie benötigen diese bei telefonischen Kontakten mit dem Customer Service und zur Datenänderung.

Weitere Empfehlungen