You are using an obsolete browser. For that reason, some of the content of this website may not display correctly. Please update your browser. If your computer is part of a network, please consult the administrator.

Leave mobile area

This page cannot be displayed optimally on mobile devices. Continue anyway?

Toll Collect Toll Collect

Service hotline

  • Calls from Germany:
  • 0800 222 26 28 *
  • Calls from outside Germany:
  • 00800 0 222 26 28 *

* free of charge, costs for calls from mobiles may vary

Enforcement

What happens if the toll is not deducted properly?

If the toll is not deducted properly, it will be subsequently collected in a retroactive collection procedure. You will receive a written notification.

What will subsequently be collected by Toll Collect?

The toll for the routes that were actually travelled will be subsequently collected.

If the actual routes travelled cannot be established, the toll is collected at a flat rate for a distance of 500 km per journey.

If the number of axles or weight is set incorrectly in the on-board unit (OBU), the difference of the amount from the toll already paid will be subsequently collected.

If the emission class is set incorrectly in the on-board unit, the vehicle registration certificate for the vehicle will be requested by Toll Collect.

You will receive a notification in each case.

I have paid the toll. Why have I received an enforcement letter?

Thank you for supporting us with financing the German transport infrastructure!

In almost all enforcement checks we determine that the toll has been correctly paid. In the rare event that you do receive a notification or hearing summons, you can find information on all of the possible causes for this here.

What must I do if I receive a reply form (Anhörungsbogen)?

You can reply to the letter you have received within 14 days using the reply form. Please fill out the form and send the requested evidence to Toll Collect.

What must be filled out in the reply form (Anhörungsbogen)?

Please enter in the reply form:

  • the data for towing vehicle and trailer (if any)
  • the route travelled within Germany
  • different party liable for toll (if any
  • information on the driver

What must I do if I drive a toll-exempt vehicle and I have received a letter?

If you drive a toll-exempt vehicle, please submit evidence of this to us. The evidence that is required is stated on the back of the letter.

Information on toll-exempt vehicles

What must I do if I receive a notification (Bescheid)?

Transfer the amount specified to the Federal Office for Goods Transport (BAG) within seven days of notification. You must specify the transaction number (Kassenzeichen) when doing this. This can be found on the first page of the notification.

If you do not agree with the notification, you can lodge a signed objection with Toll Collect within one month of receiving the notification.

What is Toll Collect’s role in terms of enforcement?

The task of enforcing the toll requirement is split between Toll Collect and the Federal Office for Goods Transport (BAG). Toll Collect is responsible for automatic enforcement. This responsibility also includes recovery of toll in the case of toll non-payment or incorrect toll payment. This official task was assigned to Toll Collect by the German Federal Government.

All further enforcement is carried out by the BAG.

Overview of the forms of enforcement

How does an enforcement gantry work?

How does an enforcement gantry work?

The automatic enforcement gantries span the whole carriageway. As a vehicle drives through them, they identify whether it is required to pay toll and whether the toll has been paid correctly. Every vehicle that approaches an enforcement gantry is recorded by a detection and tracking device. The lane and exact time that the vehicle passes through the gantry are recorded so as to allow precise classification. In addition, a licence plate and overview picture is taken.

A three-dimensional scan is made when a vehicle passes through the gantry, which determines whether it is required to pay toll, i.e. whether it has a gross vehicle weight of at least 7.5 tonnes. If no toll payment is required, this data is deleted immediately.

Using DSRC (infrared short-range communication), the gantry checks if the vehicle uses the automatic system and if the customer has given the correct information, e.g. the number of axles. If this is the case, the image and sensor data is deleted. Other enforcement data from the communication between the gantry and the On-Board Unit is transmitted to Toll Collect so as to assure the quality of the units.

If the vehicle does not use the automatic system, the enforcement gantry uses the licence plate number to check whether there is a manual log-on or registered toll exemption in Toll Collect's records. This process only takes a few seconds. In order to be able to prove the possible multiple use of a manual log-on, booking data remains available for up to 24 hours so that it can be compared again. If a toll violation is suspected, the data is passed on to Toll Collect for further assessment.

The BAG toll inspectors can use the enforcement gantries as part of their stationary enforcement and investigate vehicles in the case of a suspected toll violation.

How does an enforcement pillar work?

The enforcement pillars used on federal trunk roads work in a similar way to the enforcement gantries on the motorways. They monitor moving traffic and determine whether tolls have been paid correctly. The enforcement pillars do not deduct the toll.

The enforcement pillars use modern sensor technology and cameras to record and classify each truck. Stereo cameras take pictures of each vehicle to record an overview and its licence plate number. The number of axles is recorded using a side camera. The communication module (DSRC) on the head of the pillar contacts the on-board unit and checks whether the OBU is ready for toll collection (green LED), and whether the number of axles and emission class are set correctly. If the enforcement pillar is unable to establish contact with an OBU, the system checks whether the vehicle in question has been logged on manually.

Service Hotline

  • Calls from within Germany:
  • 0800 222 2628 *
  • Calls from outside Germany:
  • 008000 222 2628 *
Back to top

Build: 34.4.0.0, Content: undefined, Node: tpm2r603

Sie verwenden einen veralteten Browser. Möglicherweise werden deshalb einige Inhalte dieser Website nicht korrekt angezeigt. Bitte aktualisieren Sie Ihren Browser. Wenn Ihr Computer zu einem Netzwerk gehört, wenden Sie sich bitte an den Administrator.

Mobilen Bereich verlassen

Diese Seite kann auf mobilen Endgeräten nicht ideal dargestellt werden. Trotzdem fortfahren?

Toll Collect Toll Collect

Service Hotline

  • Anrufe aus Deutschland:
  • 0800 222 26 28 *
  • Anrufe aus dem Ausland:
  • 00800 0 222 26 28 *

* kostenfrei, Mobilfunkpreise können abweichen

Kontrolle

Was passiert, wenn die Maut nicht ordnungsgemäß entrichtet wurde?

Wenn die Maut nicht ordnungsgemäß entrichtet wurde, wird sie in einem Nacherhebungsverfahren nachträglich erhoben. Sie erhalten einen schriftlichen Bescheid.

Was wird durch Toll Collect nacherhoben?

Die Maut wird für die Strecke nacherhoben, die tatsächlich gefahren wurde.

Sofern sich diese tatsächlich gefahrene Strecke nicht ermitteln lässt, wird die Maut je Fahrt pauschal für eine Wegstrecke von 500 km nacherhoben.

Wurde die Anzahl der Achsen oder das Gewicht im Fahrzeuggerät (OBU) falsch eingestellt, wird der Differenzbetrag zur bereits entrichteten Maut nacherhoben.

Ist die Schadstoffklasse im Fahrzeuggerät (OBU) falsch hinterlegt, wird zur Klärung die Zulassungsbescheinigung (Fahrzeugschein) des Fahrzeugs von Toll Collect angefordert.

Sie erhalten in jedem Fall einen Bescheid.

Ich habe die Maut bezahlt. Warum bekomme ich ein Schreiben zur Kontrolle?

Dafür kann es verschiedene Gründe geben. Alle Informationen finden Sie auf dieser Seite:

Anhörung und Nacherhebung

Was muss ich tun, wenn ich einen Anhörungsbogen bekommen habe?

Mit dem Anhörungsbogen können Sie sich innerhalb von 14 Tagen zum erhaltenen Schreiben äußern. Bitte füllen Sie den Bogen aus und senden Sie die angeforderten Nachweise an Toll Collect.

Was muss im Anhörungsbogen ausgefüllt werden?

Im Anhörungsbogen geben Sie bitte an:

  • die Daten für Zugfahrzeug und (ggf.) Anhänger
  • die gefahrene Wegstrecke innerhalb Deutschlands
  • ggf. abweichenden Mautschuldner
  • Angaben zum Fahrer

Was muss ich tun, wenn ich Halter eines nicht mautpflichtigen Fahrzeugs bin und ein Schreiben bekommen habe?

Sind Sie Halter eines nicht mautpflichtigen Fahrzeugs, reichen Sie uns bitte Nachweise ein. Welche Nachweise Sie brauchen, steht auf der Rückseite des Schreibens.

Informationen zu nicht mautpflichtigen Fahrzeugen

Was muss ich tun, wenn ich einen Bescheid bekommen habe?

Überweisen Sie den angegebenen Betrag innerhalb von sieben Tagen ab Zustellung des Bescheids an das Bundesamt für Güterverkehr (BAG). Geben Sie dabei unbedingt das Kassenzeichen an. Das Kassenzeichen finden Sie auf der ersten Seite des Bescheids.

Wenn Sie mit dem Bescheid nicht einverstanden sind, können Sie innerhalb eines Monats nach Zustellung einen Widerspruch mit Unterschrift bei Toll Collect einlegen.

Welche Aufgabe nimmt Toll Collect bei der Kontrolle wahr?

Bei der Kontrolle der Mautpflicht findet eine Aufgabenteilung zwischen Toll Collect und dem Bundesamt für Güterverkehr (BAG) statt. Toll Collect ist für die automatische Kontrolle zuständig. Diese Zuständigkeit schließt die Nacherhebung bei festgestellter Nicht- oder Falschzahlung ein. Diese hoheitliche Aufgabe wurde Toll Collect vom Bund übertragen.

Alle weiteren Kontrollen werden vom BAG durchgeführt.

Übersicht der Kontrollformen

Wie funktioniert eine Kontrollbrücke?

Die Brücken für die automatische Kontrolle überspannen die gesamte Fahrbahn. Sie ermitteln während der Durchfahrt eines Fahrzeuges, ob es mautpflichtig ist, und ob die Maut ordnungsgemäß entrichtet wurde. Jedes Fahrzeug, das sich der Kontrollbrücke nähert, wird über eine Detection- und Trackingeinheit erfasst. Es wird ermittelt, auf welcher Spur und zu welchem genauen Zeitpunkt das Fahrzeug die Brücke passiert, damit die Klassifikation exakt erfolgen kann. Zusätzlich wird ein Kennzeichen- und Übersichtsbild erstellt.

Durch einen dreidimensionalen Scan während der Brückendurchfahrt wird festgestellt, ob das Fahrzeug mautpflichtig ist. Das heißt, es wird geprüft, ob es ein zulässiges Gesamtgewicht von mindestens 7,5 Tonnen hat. Liegt keine Mautpflicht vor, werden diese Daten sofort gelöscht.

Die Brücke prüft über DSRC (Infrarot-Kurzstrecken-Kommunikation), ob das Fahrzeug am automatischen Verfahren teilnimmt und der Kunde korrekte Angaben zum Beispiel zur Achszahl gemacht hat. Ist das der Fall, werden die Bild- und Sensordaten gelöscht. Weitere Kontrolldaten aus der Kommunikation zwischen der Brücke und dem Fahrzeuggerät werden zur Qualitätssicherung der Geräte an Toll Collect übertragen.

Nimmt das Fahrzeug nicht am automatischen Verfahren teil, prüft die Kontrollbrücke anhand des Kfz-Kennzeichens, ob Toll Collect eine manuelle Einbuchung oder eine Registrierung auf Mautbefreiung vorliegt. Dieser Vorgang dauert nur Sekunden. Um die mögliche Mehrfachnutzung einer manuellen Einbuchung nachweisen zu können, bleiben Buchungsdaten bis zu 24 Stunden für einen erneuten Abgleich verfügbar. Bei vermuteten Mautverstößen werden die Daten an Toll Collect zur weiteren Sachverhaltsfeststellung übermittelt.

Die Mautkontrolleure des BAG können im Rahmen der stationären Kontrolle die Kontrollbrücken nutzen und im Fall eines vermuteten Mautverstoßes die Fahrzeuge ausleiten.

Wie funktioniert eine Kontrollsäule?

Die auf Bundesstraßen eingesetzten Kontrollsäulen funktionieren nach einem ähnlichen Prinzip wie die Kontrollbrücken auf den Autobahnen. Sie ermitteln im fließenden Verkehr, ob die Maut korrekt entrichtet wird. Die Kontrollsäulen erheben keine Maut.

In den Kontrollsäulen werden moderne Sensortechnik und Kameras zur Erfassung und Klassifizierung der Lkw eingesetzt. Von heranfahrenden Fahrzeugen erzeugen Stereokameras ein Übersichts- und ein Kennzeichenbild. Die Anzahl der Achsen eines Fahrzeugs wird mithilfe der Seitenbildkamera festgestellt. Das Kommunikationsmodul (DSRC) am Kopf der Säule nimmt Kontakt zur On-Board Unit auf. Dabei wird überprüft, ob die OBU erhebungsbereit ist (grüne LED) und ob die richtige Achszahl und Schadstoffklasse eingestellt sind. Kann die Kontrollsäule keinen Kontakt mit einer OBU herstellen, wird überprüft, ob eine manuelle Einbuchung vorliegt.

Service Hotline

  • Anrufe aus Deutschland:
  • 0800 222 26 28 *
  • Anrufe aus dem Ausland:
  • 00800 0 222 26 28 *
Zum Seitenanfang

Build: 34.4.0.0, Content: undefined, Node: tpm1r603